Clients and Kind Words

OPFFA

Sean was able to assist us in all aspects of our lobby. His work on communications and messaging helped us focus on our government relations. He crafted a specialized media training coaching session that helped me deliver a strong performance on an important public affairs talk show.  I would definitely recommend Sean to any prospective client looking for a professional communications specialist.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             

Rob Hyndman, President, Ontario Professional Firefighters Association

 

Sean’s approach is very hands-on which results in deeper learning. His coaching style is clear and insightful and he makes people feel comfortable through the process. We’re delighted with his work and get great feedback from participants.

Elaine La Chappelle , Head of Membership and Leadership Development, Ontario Real Estate Association

 

Screen Shot 2019-01-26 at 15.22.32

We found that Sean Mallen’s counsel was very valuable in guiding us through a complex and delicate communications project.  His clear, accessible and compelling writing helped elevate our story. 

Anne Golden, Co-Founder and Chair, Ryerson City Building Institute

 

WBHI logo correct

Sean Mallen’s communications counsel and his writing of speeches, articles and media materials have been a tremendous help to Women’s Brain Health Initiative.  He has a knack for translating complex ideas into compelling, accessible stories for a broad audience.  I’m happy to recommend his services.

Lynn Posluns, Founder and President, WBHI

 

Lutherwood good

We engaged Sean to train two senior leaders as spokespeople. Drawing on his wealth of experience and knowledge as a seasoned investigative reporter, Sean not only provided excellent presentation and media training, he also worked with us to develop a crisis communication plan that has become the foundation for all our crisis communications. Sean is a valuable resource for those looking for presentation, media and crisis communication expertise and support.

Chris Sellers, Director of Communications, Marketing & Strategy, Lutherwood

 

BCD

BCD is an international leader in business travel advice, with its affiliates operating in 109 countries, supporting some of the world’s largest corporations.  I was pleased to assist them with strategic communications advice to grow their profile in Canada, placing a story in the Financial Post. I was also honoured to give a speech on crisis communications to their conference in St. Louis, Missouri.

Sean Mallen was a huge success at our recent spring BCD Travel Affiliate meeting held in St Louis, Mo. at the Ritz Carlton.
His knowledge and experience in helping our group understand the importance of communication when working with the media in a crisis situation was invaluable.
His specific examples of situations that he personally experienced provided excellent guidelines in how to address the media and employees as well.
Kathy Bedell, SVP, BCD Travel
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 21.05.20

Sean, I wanted to take a few moments to thank you for your communications support.In particular the media training session was a valuable opportunity to refocus on an important part of APPrO’s mission: to be a leading source of ideas, solutions and policy advice in the Ontario electricity sector.

The session was very well organized. Your years of real-world media experience made it both compelling and practical. As you know, I have done quite a few media interviews over the years, but this was a great relearning experience. And being a concise, effective spokesperson supports APPrO’s reputation and credibility.

Also thanks for your contributions through the conference blog. It was extremely well-received. I look forward to further collaboration.

 David Butters, President & CEO, The Association of Power Producers of Ontario (APPrO)

TAF logoTAC logo                Campbell's logo

RCCAO

Our construction alliance benefitted from your hands-on training. The on camera interviews were based on an upcoming RCCAO report on how vehicle automation might influence infrastructure, congestion and urban form. While no one knows how the future will unfold, we learned the importance of simplifying complex issues and making assertive statements about how Ontario must prepare a new era of mobility based on transformative technologies.

Andy Manahan, Executive Director, RCCAO

IESOOntarioMississaugas

CN RAil GoldcorpCCSAOntario Trucking Association

AWScreen Shot 2019-01-25 at 16.21.13

AGE-WELL is doing important work on issues that will affect  us all–promoting the development and commercialization of technologies to help people age gracefully at home.  I worked with them on strategic communications, media relations, writing blog profiles of researchers and hosting a pitch event for entrepreneurs.

 

Scotiabank Logo smaller

The Scotiabank Jam was a huge, fascinating and wildly successful event–a massive consultation exercise, reaching out to 88-thousand employees in 55 countries in 3 languages.  I was thrilled to assist in the online communications, advising on the creation and production of a pop-up video news service for the event: Jam TV.

Scotiabank JamScotiabank tweet

And to write a series of blogs updating the online conversations–helping to drive the momentum of an event that exceeded all expectations. It was a pleasure collaborating with the crack communications team at Scotiabank.

 

Scan 1

The Ontario Public School Boards’ Association invited me to speak at its Public Education Symposium. It was invigorating to craft a presentation titled From Typewriter to Twitter: How the News Media are Utterly Changed. And Exactly the Same. It was a reflection on 30+ years in journalism, sprinkled with some tips on how to talk to reporters.

OPSBA speechScreen Shot 2016-02-05 at 20.07.20

The audience of a couple of hundred decision makers in education (including at least one who had been the subject of my gentle interrogations) was attentive and polite.  Some even live tweeted, with no trolling.

%22Crushed it%22 tweet

From Former Colleagues in Journalism:

I’ve known Sean for decades, worked with him as a journalistic colleague, and been the subject of his fair and balanced reportage after I entered political life. His knowledge of the media, analytical and writing skills and interviewing abilities are of the highest order. Sean is a communications pro.
Hon. Peter Kent, Member of Parliament, former Environment Minister

Sean Mallen is a first-rate journalist – and person – in every respect. He’s smart, dedicated, reliable, hard-working, fair-minded, insightful, calm under pressure and good-humoured. Sean is a skilled professional with wide-ranging talents.
Hal Vincent, former Senior Communications Advisor to Ontario Cabinet Ministers and former Queen’s Park Bureau Chief for CFRB Radio

Awards:

4 time winner of Radio-Television News Directors Association award for excellence in broadcast news

Winner Bronze Medal at New York Festivals: “Best Correspondent”

Winner: Caribbean Tourism Organization Awards for Best Travel stories